Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Those of you with TSP shortblocks... Opinions?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2010, 03:13 AM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Those of you with TSP shortblocks... Opinions?

Just looking for some feedback from those of you who have purchased TSP shortblocks. I am looking to either get into a 408 LQ9, 402 LS2 or 427 LS3 around tax time this year and was just wanting to get some feedback, negative or positive on the TSP shortblocks. They seem to have pretty good prices on them.

Also, I know that TSP doesn't actually do their own build work in house, who builds their engines?
Old 01-09-2010, 05:29 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I've been running and SDPC LS2 403 for a few years. I'm told they are built by the same shop that does the TSP builds. It's always had more blowby and crankcase pressure than normal but has never used or burned any oil. Ed did a leakdown test on it last summer and found 25% leakdown on several cylnders and 15% on a few more. It still ran well and made the numbers in my sig but I wonder what I've been missing.

Tomorrow, in fact, Shawn and Ed from VA Speed are picking up the car to freshen the engine and install Darton sleeves turning it into a 427. I have every confidence that this engine will be better built that the last one with more attention paid to individual detail and specs.

Just my $.02
Old 01-09-2010, 08:01 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by WKMCD
I've been running and SDPC LS2 403 for a few years. I'm told they are built by the same shop that does the TSP builds. It's always had more blowby and crankcase pressure than normal but has never used or burned any oil. Ed did a leakdown test on it last summer and found 25% leakdown on several cylnders and 15% on a few more. It still ran well and made the numbers in my sig but I wonder what I've been missing.