Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Lq9 Head/Cam upgrade help????

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2010, 09:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lq9 Head/Cam upgrade help????

Hey guys,
As you can probably tell i am new to the forum, and have been trying to read as many articles as i can. But i am new to upgrading the LS style engines, and i am LOST!! First of, a little about the truck, It is a 78 chevy, 6.0 vortec, turbo 350 tranny. that i am building to Play hard, and run a Hill-N-Hole Mud drag with. A Hill-n-hole race, is a 300' shallow mud pit, with 3 jumps in it that you can get pretty serious air off of.
What i have got is a 6.0 out of a about 2004 denalli truck, it is bone stock. I had a guy wire the factory harness to a stand alone, and he Deleted the EGR out, I am not running cats either. Just the 2 O2 sensors right after the manifolds. He also HP tunned it. and i am running a drive by cable throttle body.
So my question is, If this were your motor, and you had about a 3000$ budgett give or take a couple hundred. And you didnt care about drivability because it is never going to see the pavement, What would you do?
I am after Mid-High rpm power, This truck is going to be a drive on the Floor truck. So i dont care if i lose lower end. Because it has 6:17 gears in the axles, and i will run it in low range, which with this setup is a 2.73/1 ratio. I also have a cold fusion wet nitrous kit that i might put on it.. I think i have up to a 150hp shot nossle.

Another question is, (remember Im new to the fuel injection setups!) How much tuning, if any, will be involved after a head/cam swap? Because i wont be able to put this truck on a dyno and tune it like a car?

Heres some pics of the truck, it is almost done, just some odds and ends, and alot of painting!!

Pic of the cage before i started adding guessets, it now has guesset bars on all the main bars.

Any Help would be MUCH appriciated!!! Thanks!!
Old 10-14-2010, 10:52 AM