Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Daily Driver 4.8 Looking for 420-450hp

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2019, 10:30 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Daily Driver 4.8 Looking for 420-450hp

Long time listener, first time caller. I've had my truck about 5yrs now finally paid off and I want to add some performance to it. I drive it to and from work and around town. My only transportation. Im looking to get around 420-450hp out of it. I've read these 4.8's love boost. My original plan was to do a budget turbo build with an ebay turbo and a piece by piece of everything else needed, but now I kinda want to see if I can accomplish the same thing, just all motor. Was thinking a cam..maybe one that is also spec'd and ready for a turbo if I ever decide to make that jump. Maybe heads and exhaust from there back. I'm pretty new to the performance game and kinda dont know what I dont know. If i'm missing any important details that would help with advice, Im all ears. Thanks in advance fellas
Old 04-30-2019, 10:47 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 412 Likes on 299 Posts

If its your only means of transportation i wouldn't put a cheap turbo on it and risk blowing it up. You also shouldn't aim for a dyno number. I highly recommend leaving it alone and buy another one or something similar if you'd like as a toy. Reaching 420 tire on a 4.8 on an honest dyno wouldn't drive too nice. But that's subjective.

You could put a small tow max cam in it with an upgraded valve train, headers and exhaust, better heads and intake and on and on. Talk to your local tuner I'm sure he has seen combos that work well for making power and great driveability
Old 05-02-2019, 01:01 AM
On The Tree

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts