Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

oil pump

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2023, 07:12 AM
Teching In

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default oil pump

I posted a thread here about how many miles is too much..I have a lot of experience in 40 years on engine rebuilds and troubleshooting, but none on LS platform. I am impressed with these engines and see why people swap them into everything!

I'm building a road race car, LS Swapped and will be running a wet sump, LS 3 pan, , I am looking to purchase Improved Racing baffling and installing an Accusump .. With 275K on this junkyard swap, what oil pump are being run ? A high volume? High Pressure? I might dry sump later..

Is there a better wet sump combo to run. , The LS 3 offers me the deepest sump I can run..I believe it will be at 5.5 quarts and I am running an oil cooler.

Thanks
Old 12-08-2023, 10:42 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3,247 Likes on 2,529 Posts

If you're running pretty much standard clearances, a Melling #10295 std. flow/std. pressure will do you fine.
The following users liked this post:
02EBC5Z06 (12-08-2023)
Old 12-08-2023, 11:03 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 246 Likes on 166 Posts

Originally Posted by G Atsma
If you're running pretty much standard clearances, a Melling #10295 std. flow/std. pressure will do you fine.
As he said.. Standard bearing clearance, ls7 style lifters.... a 10295 is perfect.

If you change clearances, add link bar johnsons with axle oiling, or add a turbo.. I would move to a 10296 with the higher flow and std bypass spring.
G Atsma (12-08-2023)
Old 12-08-2023, 03:23 PM
ModSquad

Received 3,696 Likes on 2,249 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

How big an oil cooler, and how long will the lines be to and fro? A big cooler with -10 lines puts a standard volume pump into panic mode.