Generation IV Internal Engine 2005-2014 LS2 | LS3 | LS7 | L92 | LS9

Heads/cam questions help needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2006, 07:44 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Heads/cam questions help needed

I was reading thought Dec. issue of Chevy High Performance and think I finally found the right heads for me.
They are by RHS.

I am looking to get RHS™ PRO ELITE™ GM GEN III heads with .650" lift but am undecided on the cam. I want something streetable. Strip doesn't matter much.

Also, can someone explain why the 225cc won't fit a 5.7l LS1? They are both the same dimensions but different intake runners.

Now the cams:
Do I go with Comp Cams XR265HR 212/218 ~ 0.522”/0.050” 114 LSA (as they tested with the heads) or will a slightly more aggressive but still moderate cam such as Comp Cams XR269HR 216/220 ~.525/.532" 114 LSA net a little more power with the heads?
I am still learning the ins and outs of how heads/cams work together so any and all help is greatly appreciated.

My plans:
I will be running the car N/A for a year or so, eventually adding a Procharger DSC1 (possibly after next deployement). So, in short I need to get the right set of heads and cam on the first try. I can't afford to do head swaps every year or so.

Current exhuast mods:
Jet Hot headers (1 3/4"x3") with 3" ORY, 3" intermediate, 3" over axle and SLP 2.5" DCME (345hp package).

Current intake mods:
SLP CAI, Whisper CF lid, Holly Powershot filter, self descreened and ported MAF, SLP smooth bellow and self ported TB (I love the free mods).

Predator tuned and 160*stat
Old 11-15-2006, 08:32 PM
On The Tree

What motor do you have?

Edit: LS1 I assume? Wrong forum then. :o

The cams you listed are badly mismatched for those heads. They'll suffocate them. You'll want quite a bit more lift and a little more duration and it'll still be very streetable. You can always ask Bret to make you a cam.
Old 11-15-2006, 09:17 PM
Banned