Introductions & Greetings New to the site? Say hello!

New Police Z28

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2003, 12:58 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default New Police Z28

Hello all. Just wanted to introduce myself and say hello to everyone on the board. I LOVE this place. I've never seen a more active and knowledgable bunch of folks ever!! My name is Kevin O. and I am a police officer in the DFW metroplex. Our department recently (3 weeks ago) obtained a very low mile 1998 Z28 and is putting it into service as a police K9 unit. I'm extremely lucky...our Chief is a hardcore drag racer himself and has gotten totally pumped up about H/P mods to our unit. He's authorized me to do "whatever" mods I wish to the car. We have 59 sq. miles of city with the majority being interstate and other highways. Our Crown Sic's were getting stompped on the roads so we got this Z car as a test. I'm allowed to do the mods but...big but...I have to pay for them myself. I have been lucky in that the administration of the city has approved the unit to be used as a test/demo car as well. That means that we can test and put our PD stamp of approval on aftermarket parts. Lord knows, if a high Perf. companies parts can live in a police unit...they will definately perform in a customer car. We got the car approx. 3 weeks ago and so far, we've a couple of awesome companies donate their wares to the project. To date: Wolfe weld in roll bar; Wolfe weld in SFC's; Dynomouth 3 1/2 by Kinney's (WICKED sounding) Granatelli air box lid and LS1 edits by AMS. Major thanks to the folks at SLP as they have donated a bunch of goodies; SS wheels, STB, and more. There is such a mass of feedback and amount of mods that can be done to these cars that it's staggering. I was directed to LS1 tech for reference and feedback about the car and have found it to be amazing. I must read this board at least 5 times a day. Anyone who has suggestions on how we can rocketize this car...please drop me a line. I wo