LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

Intake upgrade question

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2014, 11:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Intake upgrade question

I'm new to my 06 GXP and it's only got about 32k miles on it. My gas mileage sucks but I think it's just because I live in Northern WV and there's not a flat road in the state lol. The route I take to work is about 20 miles and mostly highway but again it's up and down hills so I don't think the DoD really has a chance to do much.

So that being the case I'm looking at upgrading my intake to help with both the MPG and boost my HP a little so my question is this.....Is there any real advantage to spending over $200 for a cold air intake over a Short Ram Intake for $60? I was thinking since there's no place to have a "true" cold air system in the car since there's no place to put it that's not in the engine compartment and the box for the cold air system doesn't seem like it would do much, there might not be enough of an advantage to spend the extra money.

I know I can get a K&N filter for the car that might help but if I'm going to spend $40 on the filter, I might as well get the Short Ram and have it at least look cooler if not work better.

Any advice on this would be great.....Thanks
Old 01-10-2014, 11:39 AM
Banned

I have short ram, im satisfied with it. Notice some difference and makes your exhaust tone deeper even with stock exhaust. I had k&n drop in filter also, both are good. I like the intake better even tho its right above a nice hot pipe lol
Old 01-10-2014, 11:45 AM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

There is a pace for true air which is fenderwell which you can easily.make yourself. If you're gonna spend 200+ on a intake you might as well save for a intake manifold swap
Old 01-10-2014, 11:49 AM
Banned

Id love to do the swap but idk wtf im doing when it comes to projects like that haha
Old 01-10-2014, 12:03 PM