LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

GXP with dual mode NPP exhaust (pics)

Old 10-12-2018, 07:50 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default GXP with dual mode NPP exhaust (pics)

I'm not new to the world of W-bodies, but this is my first project on an LS4 car; my 2008 Grand Prix GXP.

Given that the GXP is a kid hauler and "fun" car for me, I didn't want a loud-all-the-time exhaust. That being said the stock mufflers were just depressing, so I went hunting for cutouts and ended up finding a 2015 Camaro NPP exhaust system on Craigslist for $100. Here are the new mufflers in their factory configuration (right) next to the 115k mile GXP cat-back (left).

The dual-mode mufflers have a butterfly in one tailpipe that blocks a straight thru pipe, when closed all exhaust gas is routed through the muffler internal baffling. When open, exhaust is free to flow straight through the muffler with minimal baffling. The system was cheap so I took a chance and bought it on the hope that I could adapt the mufflers to my cat-back exhaust. Camaro mufflers are angled, unlike the W-body straight design, and the tips are closer to the muffler which creates some challenges with hanging the exhaust. Some mods to the Camaro mufflers were required, so I thought that I would write it down for anyone who might be interested in doing the same. I am also interested to see how other people have address the dual-mode problem!

Anyway, here we go.

The first thing that I did was to remove the exhaust system from the cat back and build a jig to locate the tail pipes relative to the mid-pipe. Once that was done I could cut the stock Y and mufflers off knowing that I had a hard point for the mid-pipe and tips: