LS4 Performance Grand Prix GXP | Monte Carlo SS | Impala SS | LaCrosse Super

Will bad LCA bushings cause an occasional clunk?

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2023, 09:21 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will bad LCA bushings cause an occasional clunk?

I have been chasing a clunk for nearly 2 years. Here is all the info I have. It first started 2 years ago. It would happen when the front wheels were slightly turned and the front of the car was in grass, and then I would back up slowly to get into the asphalt. I would hear a clunk as the engine rpm increased to crest onto the asphalt.

Next occurrence is when I downshift from 2nd to 1st (a rare occasion) or 3rd to second. It happens sometimes when I accelerate during acceleration. It happens often enough when I let off the throttle. Sometimes the clunk sounds gradual (2 or 3 in a row as of something is slipping).

It got worse in winter. Then as temps increased it quieted down. Another observation is the car came slightly out of alignment for no apparent reason. Would that be LCA of subframe bushings or both? There is now a slight bare metal scuff on the inside of the driver wheel well. So I can tell something has moved when I combine that with the alignment being off.

Now the status is I had a shop put it in the lift. The lower control arm bushings are super rotted. They literally have holes in them. Car really doesn't drive poorly which is strange but just recently at a higher speed turn I heard a clunk and thought it was time to bring it in.

I changed the engine mounts thinking it was that. It's not. So what's left is subframe bushings or LCA bushings (which I would change the whole LCA). Thoughts?

I of course need the LCA. But I just assume have them also do subframe bushings (I know, a much bigger job) while they are in there. Car has 183k. The tech took a large bar at the subframe mounts and everything seemed tight.

Thank for your help!!
Old 09-22-2023, 09:23 PM
TECH Fanatic