LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

'95 Z28 Car Problems

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2009, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default '95 Z28 Car Problems

Hey everyone, Im new to Z28's but not Camaro's so I'm going to do my best to describe with all what it seems to be wrong with my car at the moment and please help me on this one.

I bought a 1995 Camaro Z28 last week and it was running fine when I test drove it. It passed state emissions and really had nothing wrong with it so I bought it. The previous owner did state that the car has a new LT1 motor, caps, distributor, plugs, wires, and also a fuel pump.

So in general I'm having really bad fuel efficiency and had to fill up three days in a row. (I do travel 20 mins both ways everyday but still?)

The first problem is the fuel gauge. It appears to be low on gas once the meter hits the "F" and has gas when it goes completely past the "F". The Check engine light comes on once the arrow hits full. The previous guy said it should have been fixed with the new fuel pump but wasn't. How much to fix this? Is it just the sending unit?

Also the coolant light is on even though it has coolant and doesn't appear to be leaking anything.

Also my car is having trouble with turning on. Once again once I test drove the car it was fine but now it seems to take several tries to start the car. I thought it could be the Optispark system but realize once it has fuel in it, it starts right up. I'm thinking it could be low fuel or something else?

The last problem is one the car is idle or just turning on, the RPMS stay around 1-2 and don't drop to 0 even when parked. THE RPMS will bounce a little when accelerating then it would go back to normal. I'm thinknig it needs a tune up but it just had one 3 months ago?

Also, I have very high oil pressure, its right below the 80 mark..

I know its a lot but anyone who can help thanks!

Last edited by Speedy Z28; 07-07-2009 at 04:41 PM.
Old 07-07-2009, 04:51 PM