1994 Pontiac Firebird Formula

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2012, 06:14 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1994 Pontiac Firebird Formula

UPDATE:
Originally Posted by LT1FirebirdSLP
From experience, everytime I have seen 36, it was the Optispark.
I replaced the coil and 36 went away. I still get these codes:

42 - EST Grounded
71 - A/C Evaporator Temperature Sensor Circuit

I'm not worried about the A/C problem, but I am about the EST. It still misses when it runs after 5 minutes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong section but I do know that my Formula is basically a Camaro. I am new to ls1tech.com.

I have a 1994 Pontiac Firebird Formula. It has a 5.7L engine, 6-speed manual transmission. It has 119K original miles. When I first start it it runs fine until it starts getting warm it starts missing and gets worse as it gets hotter.

Let's assume that the heads are fine.

I've already replaced the spark plugs and plug wires (I feel like a real mechanic now), they are in tight, the wires are on the plugs and opti good and tight and I did NOT cross wires. I used a OBD1 reader on it and got 3 codes:

42 - EST Grounded
36 - High Resolution Pulse Failure

I've checked the voltage to the coil and got battery voltage as indicated by my Hanes repair manual.

When I bought the car it wasn't running, so far I have replace the fuel pump assembly, spark plugs and plug wires, and the map sensor. They guy I bought it from said he was tired of dumping money into it and told me he put a new ECM and Optispark in it so those are not likely, he is family and considering he sold me the car for $400 (which he could've junked it for that), he was telling the truth. I'd greatly appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction or show me a trouble shooting guide. Pictures would also be nice. Thanks in advance.