LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Looking for new exhaust ideas!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2013, 02:10 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for new exhaust ideas!

My LT1 currently has Edelbrock shorty headers, cat delete, and a Flowmaster muffler. It sounds good, but I want better, and a little louder if possible. The cat delete made almost no difference what-so-ever. (the headers and muffler were already on it when I bought it.) I hear everyone telling me to use long tube headers but I don't know what difference it would make. (I also hear they're a Bit** to install if using a cherry picker.) One of my friends suggested to go to either a 3 inch or 3 1/2 inch exhaust pipe.
Keep in mind, guys, I'm a beginner at the modification world so hopefully I can get some tips in a language I can understand lol.
Old 07-23-2013, 05:38 PM
TECH Resident

well you already have headers, granted they are shorty's but there better then factory manifolds performance wise. going from shorty's to long tubes IMO is a waste for you. If you just want louder and still sound good I'd recommend pypes violator muffler. You may hear just put a exhaust cut out and open it when you want to be noticed, loud yes, sound good ? No.
Old 07-23-2013, 05:46 PM
TECH Enthusiast

longtube headers is never a waste IMO. from manifolds to longtubes yes is more power/sound gains but shortys to longtubes will still see gains but most of all plug access. i haaated my access on shorty headers. longtubes forever. Pacesetters are a super easy install as well. mine slid right in from bottom no cherry picker needed.

as for sound.. its all preference. loudmouth is of course loud but im not a fan of the sound as to where you might be. if you can try to listen to all the ones you can in person and if not there go with internet. sound is all preference so its hard to steer someone that way.
Old 07-23-2013, 09:24 PM
TECH Apprentice