LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

how much?

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2014, 11:20 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how much?

Hey, so i am seriously considereing getting new headers, a y pipe and maybe a new throttle body on my 94 TA. For the headers/y pipe im looking at at least 450 new and the throttle body probly around 250-300.[B]So i was just curious as to what you all think labor would be on this sort of endeavor. I am aware it depends on where you go and many factors but im just looking for a ball park estimate. I know it would be cheapest to do it my self but I am a complete novice at this stuff and while i could problably handle the throttle, i dont want to get involved with the headers and stuff. Also another question, so just a basic understanding of physics and such would suggest that a larger throttle body should lead to more power but it will of course use more fuel so if i got a 52mm throttle body how much do you think it would impact my mpg. Or if that assumption is wrong and its somehow more efficient that would be great also.
If you actually read all this thanks!
Old 09-30-2014, 11:51 AM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I assume your car is nearly stock, you are wasting time bothering with an aftermarket TB, not gonna add any HP at stock level, probably cause idle issues, so just forget about that for now and concentrate elsewhere (exhaust, CAI, tune, gears) Header install is not going to be cheap or easy, if you are paying somebody, figure $70-100 per hour labor X 4-5 hours....or try it out yourself, you might just learn something and save some $$$. Buy decent gaskets too, the ones that most headers come with suck and will leak.
Old 09-30-2014, 11:52 AM
TECH Enthusiast