LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Roadmaster LT1 Upgrade Path - Advice Wanted

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2015, 09:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Roadmaster LT1 Upgrade Path - Advice Wanted

Hey guys, been lurking around these forums recently and just started an account, so hi. o/

I just bought a 1995 Buick Roadmaster Wagon with an LT1 (she is the "Land Spruce Goose," and yes, I do have wood grain). The car has 139K on it, and the engine is pissing about a quart of oil a minute onto the exhaust. I have some time now, and I want to rebuild the engine. As I'm pretty new to engine work, I'd like to make this my learning/build thread.

I bought this book:
How to Rebuild Small-Block Chevy Lt1/Lt4 Engines Hp1393: Mike Mavrigian: 0075478013937: Amazon.com: Books How to Rebuild Small-Block Chevy Lt1/Lt4 Engines Hp1393: Mike Mavrigian: 0075478013937: Amazon.com: Books

...as a guide to refer to. A review says it's great if you want to rebuild to stock specs.

I want to stick with N/A and pass emissions (not a big truck fan, so I want to use this as my tow/haul/family mobile). From what I read, high compression builds are recommended for the LT1, reverse flow cooling facilitating that.

260 HP stock, I guess I'd like to be around 330-350.

So I've got some questions to start off:

1. Elephant in the room: would an LS swap be a better idea (I might just want to rebuild the LT for the experience)?

2. What kind of modifications am I looking at for the bottom end, heads, pistons, etc. to be able to make 330-350 and pass emissions? Fuel economy is a concern, but less so than power and smogability.

3. I read that one should start at the back and build up to the engine. Would the stock 4L60E and LSD be able to handle the modded engine, or what kind of upgrades would you guys recommend? I was reading this page: http://etereman.com/blog/general-mot...ion-for-towing