LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

Help with Fuel Injectors... what else do I need??

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2005, 05:38 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help with Fuel Injectors... what else do I need??

bought 28# fuel injectors, but I'm not sure what else I need to do or buy before I install them.. also.. can I do this myself or do I have to get them done by a profesional.. and I've heard that they need to be calibrated or something like that... I still have my stock MAF sensor... do I need to get a bigger one for a 4# increase.. and I bought a Crane Ignition box.. will this help?

Any coments/answers will be appreciated thanks..
Old 07-03-2005, 05:48 PM
TECH Enthusiast

just plug and play, unbolt the 4 fuel rail bolts, undo the fuel lines, pry up on each old injector untill it pops out of the intake, and swap... then tune the pcm.
Old 07-03-2005, 05:53 PM
Teching In

How do I go by tuning the PCM... I'm new at this.. so.. do I need to buy something like a computer programer or something like that?
Old 07-03-2005, 06:16 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I use LT1 edit. www.carputing.com with a cable from camaroholic on the message board www.akmcables.com I think he also has a software tutorial on there. If you can tune a caburator and distributor, and are computer literate, you'll find LT1 edit super easy to use.
Old 07-03-2005, 06:26 PM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Honestly you have a couple months worth of reading to do before you mess around any more.
On some other vehicles the MAF can be used to tune but on this one where pcm access is so simple and cheap that is a VERY BAD idea.
On the injectors most of the 28# I am aware of are LS1 injectors and being such are rated at the LS1s intended fuel pressure which is HIGHER than the LT1s so in the end the 28# LS1 injectors are about the same size as stock or even a tad smaller.