LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 scanmaster owners come in.

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2007, 04:30 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default LT1 scanmaster owners come in.

I have an LT1 scanmaster that im using on an OBD2 vehicle. I know that i have hooked it up properly, but im getting weird function.

The problem: It works fine, but it shuts off after a few minutes of driving. (the time varies) When i go to kill the engine it will turn on momentarily and then shut off like it is supposed to. It starts up fine everytime I start the car.Also the connnection from the OBD2 port is a good connection. ( I know it will not function without this signal)

FYI a while back I had no idea that the Cig fuse controlled the port for OBD2 and was trying to hook up my scanmaster. After hooking it up and getting no reading (due to blown fuse and not knowing) I figured that something was wrong with the scanmaster.
(keep in mind this was a long time ago). Me being who I am took the scanmaster apart to see whats inside. Inside I found a simple electrical board with a few chip components and 2 tiny switches. I am not sure as to what position these two switches were in on the circuit board. I do not know if I moved them at the time, and if this has to do with what problem im having.

Is there anybody that I can contact that makes the scanmaster?

I really like the tool, and found out my MAF is reading after all! (A whole other subject)
Old 01-29-2007, 05:07 PM
TECH Apprentice

Does it cut off because it loses power (dies instantly)?

Or cut off because it loses data (data stop changing for a few seconds then it goes off)?
Old 01-29-2007, 08:13 PM
TECH Resident

check the batteries in the scanmaster
Old 01-29-2007, 08:37 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by Mattybz28
Does it cut off because it loses power (dies instantly)?

Or cut off because it loses data (data stop changing for a few seconds then it goes off)?