LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

What are the options I have??

Old 08-04-2007, 12:46 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What are the options I have??

Hi.I have a 1995 camaro Z28 and I am new to doing mods to it.I have put on a Flowmaster muffler and a high flow cat.. I am wanting to know what I can do to have my car run a decent 1/4 mile time and be able to drive it everyday.I plan to get a hooker cat back exhaust, but was wondering what else I can do with out spending alot of cash because I am going to college right now.Thanks
Old 08-04-2007, 01:08 AM
TECH Fanatic

Headers, CAI, Pullies, Cutouts. etc
Old 08-04-2007, 02:54 AM
Teching In

NOS one of the cheapest HP per dollar out there. A 125-150 is good for a stock motor.
Old 08-04-2007, 08:41 AM
TECH Resident

I would do gears, cai, DR'S, LT headers, ORY, Programming, stall if your an A4and then like 86zboss says nitrous. Also do a search on "free mods" and those will help as well.
Old 08-04-2007, 08:41 AM
12 Second Club

Headers, CAI, Pullies, Cutouts. 160.Therm
Old 08-04-2007, 09:39 AM
Launching!

What kind of NOS should I run wet kit or dry kit. Also I didnt know if a hot cam kit be for what I am wanting.If so would I need to change the lifters because I didnt know if the LT1 came with a roller cam.
Old 08-04-2007, 09:49 AM
11 Second Club

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Skip the pullies and cutout people keep recommending, with the LT1 waterpump arrangement pullies offer little potential power freed up. A cutout is a bandaid for a poor system like the chokemaster you have, IMO the money would be better spent on a decent muffler like the Hooker catback you are looking at.

Sounds like you are a LONG ways from a cam being a decent idea and at that point the HOT cam is not a particularly good choice. It's popularity is rooted in ignorance more than anything else. The stock lifters can be reused just fine on roller cams.