LT1-LT4 Modifications 1993-97 Gen II Small Block V8

LT1 Reliability

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2007, 10:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question LT1 Reliability

Hey guys im a newbie here and i have a coupla questions. IM lookin at a 94 Z28 Convertable with 104k on her. I need to know how reliable these engines are. What gas mileage they get, do they need 91 oct or can you run 87? What are the best basic mods, ie; cai, maf, tb, tunning..ect. What do i need to look for as far as abuse? ANd whats up with all these Opti spark problems??
Thanks guys
Old 11-25-2007, 11:18 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by 94Bandit
Hey guys im a newbie here and i have a coupla questions. IM lookin at a 94 Z28 Convertable with 104k on her. I need to know how reliable these engines are. What gas mileage they get, do they need 91 oct or can you run 87? What are the best basic mods, ie; cai, maf, tb, tunning..ect. What do i need to look for as far as abuse? ANd whats up with all these Opti spark problems??
Thanks guys
Mileage - My car got 22 highway as an A4, it gets slightly over 30 as an M6. (I converted it, both these numbers are with 3.42 gears)
Octane - The owners manual calls for premium, however you can run 87 but the computer will pull timing and there will be some power loss.
Mods - All the typical bolt ons apply. Headers, cat back, cold air, gears, free mods, etc
Abuse - I'm not going to lie, most of these cars get beat on through their lives, but that is the nature of them. Many LT1s are surpassing 150k miles with basic maintenance. There was a thread a while back of one that had 250k on it I believe and when it was torn down the cylinder walls still had crosshatch. The motor failed due to a headgasket leak that hydrolocked the motor.