Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Do I need a blowpproof bellhousing or will my stock one hold

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2009, 10:10 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Do I need a blowpproof bellhousing or will my stock one hold

Would like to know if anyone has had a clutch explode and penetrate a stock bell housing? I have been running a stock bellhousing for several years but have always wondered how it would hold up if my clutch came apart. I usually dont turn more then 7500rpms but would still like to know if anyone has had a clutch penetrate an oem housing.

Thanks,
..RJ..

Would also like to know the differences between a t56 housing and a regular sbc housing other then the extra bolt hole.
Old 03-31-2009, 06:39 AM
TECH Addict

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Not personally, but plenty of horror stories can be found about lucky (and unlucky) souls that have had a clutch explode.

I've been running a stock bell, but have a new McLeod LT1 bell on my spring shopping list. I just feel I've been tempting fate for too long.
Old 03-31-2009, 07:20 AM
CARTEK Racing

Originally Posted by 85MikeTPI
Not personally, but plenty of horror stories can be found about lucky (and unlucky) souls that have had a clutch explode.

I've been running a stock bell, but have a new McLeod LT1 bell on my spring shopping list. I just feel I've been tempting fate for too long.
+1

I have seen 2 cars personaly where the clutch let go and went through the windshield... A LOT of damage.

I now have a Quick Time SFI bellhousing...
Old 03-31-2009, 10:19 AM
TECH Senior Member

I know what it can do on an F-body...first hand unfortunately. It wont hold.
Old 03-31-2009, 10:31 AM
Banned

Quicktime is the way to go . They are nice bellhousings and fit very well except you have to notch them sometimes with long tube headers depending on the application .
Old 03-31-2009, 01:21 PM
CARTEK Racing

Originally Posted by thesource