Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Replace clutch/hydraulics?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2010, 08:59 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Replace clutch/hydraulics?

I'm about to have the LS1 in my 2001 T/A swapped out for an LS6. Was wondering if I should go ahead and replace the clutch and/or hydraulics (and misc. parts) associated with it since the engine will be out of it. Also, anything else trans. related I should consider? I'm not an expert by ANY means in this area so any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

AdaM
Old 11-03-2010, 09:22 PM
On The Tree

I'm sure other people will have other opinions, but if you have the money to spare....I can safely say that I was VERY happy to put a new clutch master, slave, and a heavy duty clutch kit in. ESPECIALLY if your setup is still stock. Then again, you may have better equipment compared to my '00 SS. All in all, everything feels like it hooks better and is solid, whereas my stock setup felt like it'd fall apart if I beat on it.. Just my opinion, though.

I got the Monster Level 3 clutch kit with lightweight flywheel and slave, Tick master cylinder (no drill mod needed)
Old 11-04-2010, 01:06 PM
TECH Enthusiast

How much did that run all together?
Old 11-04-2010, 01:55 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Adam2001WS6
How much did that run all together?
Best deal out there:

Tick/Monster Complete Clutch Swap kit
Old 11-04-2010, 05:12 PM
On The Tree

Everything I got was on sale, at the time; plus I had my transmission rebuilt by Morris Motorsports, so Derrick cut me even more of a deal, for all of the business. BUT, this is what I got...

Level 3 Premium (700HP Setup) + lightweight flywheel, slave, etc.
http://www.morrismotorsports.net/mon...hes_levels_i-v

Tick ADJUSTABLE Master Cylinder
http://www.tick-performance.com/tick...dy/hydraulics/
Part #TAMCKFB