Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Pay for a rebuild or do it myself?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2011, 10:04 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pay for a rebuild or do it myself?

I've been saving to rebuild for a while now and just about have the funds to do it, but have been doing a lot of reading the last couple of days and have seen where people are rebuilding these themselves. Now I have ZERO experience with transmissions other than removing, installing, and fluid changes, but am an experienced engine builder. I was planning on having my whole trans done, new bearings, viper 2nd gear, viper main shaft, exc...exc. Basically what I'm wondering is this worth risking doing myself, and how is the success rate for DIY'ers building their own trans? By the time I buy everything needed to do it am I looking at a difference of a couple hundred bucks or a good amount? I'd love to learn how to do this, but not at the expense of it costing me a lot more in the long run.
Old 09-17-2011, 09:26 AM
Launching!

Originally Posted by WeakSauce6
By the time I buy everything needed to do it am I looking at a difference of a couple hundred bucks or a good amount?
You'd have to price out the components you want to buy to determine the savings.

I can tell you first hand I just built a $2500+ 2004R for less then $1000 with a $50 core.
I'm not too savvy with the T-56 yet but if that DIY write up is good, I'm going to rebuild mine as well.

A good snap ring plier set can be bought at Sears for $20.
Outside of that I'm not sure how many other specialized tools you'll need.
With the 200-4R I was able to save alot of dough on special tools with various tricks I learned
Old 09-17-2011, 10:49 AM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post