Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

having clutch/transmission issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2012, 11:59 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default having clutch/transmission issues

so a few months ago, i got a Tick adjustable master and a stock slave replacement because the stock parts went out on me. i had a local shop install them, and all was good, except the stock clutch was within a inch of its life.

i ordered a new Monster Level 2 clutch package with the lightweight aluminum flywheel. i drove the car on the stock clutch until the pedal dropped to the floor again.

i thought the stock clutch had just finally bit the big one, so i took it back to the same shop to have them install the new Monster clutch package. while they were in there, they found that the new slave that they had just put in about 2 - 2.5 months before was dead already.

i grabbed a new one from Auto Zone so they could get the car back together, and they got the car back to me.

i noticed that the shifter was a little hard to get into gear, but i figured that was just either due to the clutch being new and needing to "break in", or the master needing to be adjusted.

i got under the dash and adjusted the master cylinder, and also pulled the shifter (Pro 5.0) and readjusted it to make sure everything was lined up properly.

it was a little better for a while, but now it's getting hard to get into gear again.

it's easy to put into gear with the engine not running; however, when i start the car, it's usually pretty hard to get into 1st or 2nd, and even hard to get into the other gears. reverse is sometimes impossible to get into. i have to kill the engine, put it into reverse, then start it up again.