Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Clutch goes to the floor....was fine just a few days ago

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2014, 06:06 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch goes to the floor....was fine just a few days ago

Hey guys,

I was selling my car, met up with one of our members on this website and signed the paperwork and everything-- about an hour later I was called and the clutch pedal has gone through the floor.

I am having the car towed back to my home, and naturally voided my sale (I feel terrible, I had no idea there was a problem and it drove fine when I went to meet up with the buyers. I am not a piece of ****, and would not want someone driving 600+ miles back home with what could be a dangerous situation)

So, the overflow tank was bone dry. I am no mechanic, I barely drive the car and it sits in my garage so I did not notice this happening. They filled it up with fluid, and there was no change in the clutch response as per the pedal.

So, now that it looks like I will be keeping the car (I can't sell something that isn't up to par in my standards)....where do I begin? I've read on here, if you are going to replace the master cylinder, you might as well get the slave. And, being as though I have added some good power....might as well upgrade the clutch and do it all at once.

I will try to tow it to a mechanic shop my friend works at, maybe he can tell me what I need. So disappointed, I really needed to sell the car to be able to trade my my work truck to pick up another work truck. (I was selling the car for what I owe on it). Now I owe money on the car, so I will just eat it and repair and if I'm putting this kind of money into it....might as well keep it.

I see you guys recommending a Tick unit for the master cylinder--- do I need the slave cylinder from the same company?