Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Odd inconsistent clutch pressure issue....

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2016, 03:00 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Odd inconsistent clutch pressure issue....

I have a turbo lm7/t56 in a Lexus is300. Ls7 clutch set-up with an ls2 flywheel. The issue I'm having is odd, I have a wilwood 7/8 clutch master cyl, new slave, and when I went to bleed the clutch I had a HELL of a time getting the master to pump fluid. Finally put a vacuum pump on the remote bleeder line and slowly got it to pump fluid. Bled all the air out, and started driving it. Now sometimes the pedal will fall half way before it begins to disengage, and other times it's RIGHT at the top... And I was driving it yesterday, got on it, and the clutch slipped. When I went to push in the clutch, it was clearly pressurized internally, causing the clutch to slip. Pedal was hard. Pushed it in once, and it went back to normal, no slipping. Originally I thought was the master cylider, but now I'm not so sure. Tried bleeding it again to double check, no air in the system. No leaks. When you bleed it, after you relieve the pressure, it takes FOREVER to get a pedal again, and it seems like it doesn't matter how much you pump it, it just matters how long you let it sit. If you push the clutch in, relieve pressure, and try to pump the clutch again, there's nothing. But if you walk away for a few mins, and try again... Full pedal. Any insight is greatly appreciated!
Old 07-03-2016, 05:15 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 90 Posts
LS1Tech 10 Year

Is the nipple the fluid goes in from Reservoir of the Wilwood positioned so it is the highest part of the MC as it is mounted in your pedal set-up?

If not than bleeding the system with the fill nipple lower will trap air in the system while bleeding.