Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

T56 - LT1 to LS1 Conversion - Shimming Procedure Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2018, 03:18 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default T56 - LT1 to LS1 Conversion - Shimming Procedure Help Needed

Hey Everyone,

First post here on the forums, have trolled for a lot of useful information for a few years thus far. I am working on a LS1/T56 conversion into an '89 BMW E30 and am sure will have many more questions through the process.

I'm finishing assembly of the engine and waiting for new head gaskets and in the meantime have started working on the transmission. I have a '94 LT1 T56 which I am converting over to use behind the LS1. I've got the new LS1 midplate, bellhousing, input shaft, input shaft seal and shim kit to do the conversion.

As I dig in, I've got a clarification question regarding the shimming procedure for the input and countershafts when doing the conversion. This is my first time into the T56 so I appreciate the help.

I've seen several different opinions regarding the enplay/preload settings for these but have decided to go with the Tremec recommended numbers.

My biq question is regarding the steps needed to get the correct measurements. Here is the procedure outlined in the Tremec T-56 Service Manual:

SECTION 5
SHIMMIN PROCEDURES
5-1. INPUT SHAFT, MAINSHAFT AND
COUNTERSHAFT

5-1-1. TOOLS REQUIRED
a. Dial Indicator Set
b. Countershaft End Play Measuring Tool (Fig. 6-1)

5-1-2. INSTALL OR CONNECT
a. Position transmission in vertical position.
b. Input shaft (10) to adapter (1).
c. Mainshaft (23) to input shaft (10).
d. Countershaft (105).
1. Lift up mainshaft (23) enough to install
countershaft (105).
2. Install countershaft (105).
a. Transmission case (44).
b. Adapter to transmission case bolts (178).
c. Tighten
¨ Bolts (178) to 26 lb. Ft. (35 N.m.)
d. Place tip of dial indicator on end of mainshaft (23).
e. Measure