Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

Stock clutch

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2008, 02:50 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stock clutch

Hello all,

First I have no experience on manuals except for a old neon but never did any maintenence on it. I have never owned a "real car" before and now i have a 02 z28. All maintenence on my cars have always been done by a dealer (warrenties). So my background is very limited to say the least.

So all that being said my question is to you all:

Is the stock clutch pretty soft to press for the most part? I mean I have only one other car to compare to but it was a neon 4 banger and its clutch was much stiffer. When shifting its almost so easy as if it was some kind of assisted type of deal (which I know it isnt). I have read all the sticky's and what not but was jsut wondering how others clutch's feel.

Perhaps I need to bleed it or whatever but although it might sound dumb to most of you I am a little intemidated about working on my car (atleast I admitted it lol).

Thanks
Old 03-25-2008, 03:09 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

That is a very understandable feeling and may be a good thing if you don't know what you're doing. It's pretty easy to screw up these clutch systems unless you've worked on them before (always good to have a friend who knows something help you out), but on the other hand, the only way to learn is to read up and then try it out for yourself.

The clutches are soft, but probably shouldn't be any softer than a stock manual Neon. If the car shifts very smoothly, while driving regularly and ALSO at high RPMs when racing (5500-6000 RPM shifts), then I wouldn't worry about a thing. If you are having issues shifting at high RPMs and it's not your driving, then you may need to start troubleshooting.