Manual Transmission T56 | T5 | MN12 | Clutches | Hydraulics | Shifters

HELP! CLUNK SOUND

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2003, 02:38 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! CLUNK SOUND

Whenever I let the clutch out quick in 1-2, let in clutch in quick when reversing, or get on it a a low speed in 1st or 2nd I hear a clunk noise comming from behind me. What is that? I read in a post where the guy says his shift stick moves a little when he gets on it and mine does the same thing. I think they told him it was the transmission mounts? Also, there is some grease crap all over a metal piece that runs the length of the drive shaft. I'm not sure what this is either. I'm new to driving a manual and must admit that I suck somewhat at driving it in terms of not always easing the clutch out perfectly all the time when up shifting, but damn it why does it have to make a big clunk sound? I have only a little bit left on my bumper to bumper warranty and want to get this in if it sounds like a bad thing. I'm new to LS1s too and have heard they have weak rear ends. I can take a picture of the oil grease thing I'm talking about under the car if that would help. Oh yeah I got a 00' Camaro SS w/ the factory Diff upgrade and of course the M6 tranny. Also I got 31000 on the clock. I just got this car 2 weeks ago and it has done it ever since I got it. If I ease the clutch out ever so perfectly it won't do it.

Thanks,

Rob
Old 08-06-2003, 02:52 PM
Cal
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Re: HELP! CLUNK SOUND