Midwestern Members IA, IL, IN , KY, MI, MN, MO, NE, OH, WI, KS, OK

I may be moving to Minnesota

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 10:51 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I may be moving to Minnesota

My company has an office in Minneapolis that I may transfer to, but I need to know some info for negotiations. I've been working with a client up there for about 2 years off and on, a refinery there in Pine Bend, and I may be able to take a position that would put me in the plant for more hands-on engineering work (I've designed a ton of control systems for them without having ever placed a single foot in the refinery - it sucks). My company may also pay for me to go back to school (I've been doing that here in Houston out of my own pocket ), so I was looking at UofM in Minneapolis.

So I need to know:
-Cost of living
-Tax info (I know it has State and Federal Income tax)
-Areas to look at that are affordable and somewhat close to UofM and Pine Bend (I guess near Eagan? Our corporate office is in Bloomington, by the Mall Of America)
-What is there to do up there (I like mountain biking, offroading, hiking/camping)?
-Anything else anyone has to offer.

I really hate Houston (heat, people, traffic, flatness, etc.), have for 10 years now, and the last tie I have here is moving away this week (my parents are moving back to DFW), so I really want to get away at almost any cost. I like my company and would love to get this job, but I need something to hit them with to make it worth it for me as well so I don't go to the poor house on the deal.

Thanks for any help .

Tom
Old 02-28-2008, 11:09 AM
Launching!