Military Hotrod Club For our members in the Armed Forces

IA Duty... Got questions.

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2008, 11:30 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default IA Duty... Got questions.

Okay for some of you that don't know what IA stands for. It is Individual augmentee. Sailors go TAD for 8-14 months, over to the desert, or were ever they need you.

I have been thinking about doing this for quiet some time now. I am at a place in my career that I need all the help I can get with advancement. And not only that, but the place I am currently stationed really sucks the big one.

I am an Engineer stuck working with a bunch of Air force wannabee's. VQ-2 Squadron. They fly the P-3's. I am not trying to hate on some of you guys, if there are any of you out there, but the people I work with are so damn retarded. It gets old quick. Most of them don't even know what the real navy is about. I have been stationed on ships pretty much 85% of my career, took a shore duty billet to ACU-4 in Little Creek Va, and now I am here for my Sea duty billet. But will never ever go underway with them. Because I am out of rate.

Well enough about that. I tried doing a duty swap, and that got **** canned. So now I am looking at possible IA duty's.

For those of you that have served over seas with an IA,

What are your thoughts on it?

Engineers, is there places over there for them? Or is it pretty much spread out, and you go were they need the troops?

How were they, compared to what you are use too?

Did they get treated the same as the people in your branch of service?

Were where you located over there? And how often did you and your fellow IA members get injured, shot upon, or even worse, Killed in the line of duty?

Other than doing your everyday routine, what things were you guys able to do?