Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.3 help?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2009, 12:46 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.3 help?

im new to the ls family i have a 5.3 in my 05 silverado and im curious what parts were interchangeable with other ls engines ie could i use and ls6 intake or could i use a stock ls1 cam ect ect im trying to just do some bold on for not a lot of money maybe use stock parts for other ls engines im not real sure thats why im here thanx!
Old 11-03-2009, 02:32 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would save up man. Get performance, not stock.
Im saving up to get an exhaust system on mine.
Old 11-03-2009, 03:36 AM
TECH Resident

to answer your question more specifically instead of giving my opinion on what to do to your truck like everyone likes to do around here these days...

1. yes the ls6 intake will fit, BUT you have clearance issues with the throttle body and the water pump outlet. the car water pumps have the outlet on the front, the trucks come out the top. SO, you have to change the entire front accessory drive (water pump, alt, power steering, ac brackets and crank pulley) PLUS the truck intake actually flows very well.
2. yes the cams interchange also. just have to stay with the same gen 3 style. gen 4(ls2 ) cams dont have the correct cam sensor setup. a stock ls1 cam specs are almost identical to that of the 330 hp 5.3HO crate motor and have been proven to add 20-30 rwhp with a good tune dependant on other mods. 6.0L cams are also about the same specs. alot of times you can get these cams for free or next to nothing and if doing the labor yourslef is worth while IMO. im getting ready to put a 98 ls1 cam and ls6 yellow spring in my 5.3 AV since they are laying here and are free to me

most bolt ons are interchangable, you just have to whatch small fitmit issues. overall everything bolts up the same...
Old 11-04-2009, 03:49 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by gold98Z28