Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cooling system

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2010, 06:48 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cooling system

I'm quite new to the LS1 technology so I need some help. I've noticed that one of the mods is installing a 160* thermostat. I think I read something saying that the cooling fans kick on in the 195*-205* range. Do I have to change or adapt something to make the fans come on sooner to work with the 160* thermostat? Thanks for any help.
Old 01-10-2010, 11:33 AM
TECH Regular

you will need a tune to make the fans come on sooner... i think the 160 thermostats are a waste of money... i have a stock thermostat in mine and after a tune my temp never rises above 185 degress period... doesn't matter if i'm sitting in traffic with the ac on, nothing changes... i have a 98 also so my gauge actually works lol... the 99-02 cars have a dummy gauge and will stay around 205 after it's warmed up and won't budge unless it's overheating and by that time it's prob too late
Old 01-10-2010, 12:43 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by neutron82
you will need a tune to make the fans come on sooner... i think the 160 thermostats are a waste of money... i have a stock thermostat in mine and after a tune my temp never rises above 185 degress period... doesn't matter if i'm sitting in traffic with the ac on, nothing changes... i have a 98 also so my gauge actually works lol... the 99-02 cars have a dummy gauge and will stay around 205 after it's warmed up and won't budge unless it's overheating and by that time it's prob too late

agreed. That thermo is a waste of $$. I had one when I purchased the car and swapped it out for a stock 195* thermo. I have read numerous things on this and I noticed that the car definately runs better when it gets up to full operating temp rather than having that thermo. Spend your money on something better.

mark jr.
Old 01-10-2010, 04:55 PM
11 Second Club