Sponsored by:

Need advice Building a motor LQ4 or LQ9

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2010, 12:07 PM
gpr
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Need advice Building a motor LQ4 or LQ9

I am wanting to build a budget friendly big stroker engine for an 4th gen f body, and I am new to the LS motors so I have lots of questions on what will and what won’t work. I bought the car as a fun toy and want to build a big naturally aspirated motor which I will tune and run on e85. It will primarily be a street car with occasion trips to the drag strip. I have been reading around and it seems as if most guys prefer the LQ9 truck engines. I want to build a stroker big bore, would ideally like to build a 427ci naturally aspirated motor to make as much power as possible. What I was thinking was get one of these truck engines as cheap as possible. I have a hook up for a crank, rods, and pistons from wiseco. Then I was thinking I would try and find LS3 intake and heads.

I know the LQ4 engines have a longer crank and flex plate causing issues, however if I am replacing the crank, rods, and pistons, heads and intake does it matter if I go with the cheaper LQ4 engine? Are the 6.0L engines the same blocks? Also on these blocks what is the largest bore and stroke you can safely go to? I believe I read that if you go with a 4” bore then it is okay to use the LS3 heads? Is this true and will the heads and intake bolt on with no issue?

As far as crank and rods I have a hook up and can get the K1 technology crank and rods threw wiseco, along with wiseco pistons. However K1 technologies only offer a forged crank. Are these good cranks? And what kind of power will they hold up to? I’m debating on going with those versus a billet crank. (My goal is a 600 rwhp street car naturally aspirated with high compression running on e85)