New LS1 Owners - Newbie Tech Basic Technical Questions & Advice
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me NEVER buy another mustang lol (mod list/cam help)

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2011, 11:02 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Help me NEVER buy another mustang lol (mod list/cam help)

Ok so I am new to the whole LS F-body scene (used to be a fox body guy but never again lol). A few months ago I got a 99 Z28 A4 with a k&n intake(the one where the filter in rectangular and exposed... not just the filter under the lid the whole cold air kit), GMS Maf, Mufflex 4" single outlet cat back. It also came with slp ceramic lt's and a pacesetter ORY pipe but they are not installed.
First question is, Are these headers any good I have heard about fitment issues? They look great but that means nothing if they dont fit. Also will the pacesetter ory pipe line up with the slp's?
next question is I have been looking into cams and I am wandering if I should go heads and cam or just cam? If I should do heads what heads should I go with? I am not looking to go crazy fast I would like to run high 11's but still be a streetable all motor set up. I was looking at the texas speed 224/224 with either a 114 or 112 LSA. Should I go bigger? Which LSA should I go with? I want it to sound ballsy but not kill my drivability.
The trans is a fresh rebiuld but the motor has 114,000 on it so obviously I would think I should do the oil pump, timing chain set, and valve springs etc. But by the time I do that would I be better off upgrading the high mileage heads.
And by the time I do that would it be ok to put those new heads on a 114,000 mile block? I hear these LS1's are supposed to be very strong but that seems like a lot of miles to me?
also if I do the 224 cam do I need the dual springs or is it overkill? would I be ok with beehives?

CLUELESS TO CHEVY stuff help me never buy another mustang!!! I love this car and hope to never go back to my old BAD habits lol.