Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Word of advice... planning

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2004, 10:37 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Word of advice... planning

I've found in my life that most things work unbelievably better when you have a plan. For instance, when I went to college, I sat down with the class catalogue my freshman year and decided every class that I would ever take. I graduated in 3 years, whereas most people graduated in 5 after realizing their senior year that they hadn't taken half of the required courses they needed and many of them had prerequisites. Building a car is the same way. You can do a lot of unnecessary work and spending if you don't have a plan. Why buy a cat-back if you're eventually getting true duals? Why buy ram air if you're eventually supercharging? Plenty of guys have spent more on buying the wrong parts than they did on their cars. You'll always need to experiment for best results, but obvious errors can be avoided.

The first thing that you need to do is set a goal for your car... a realistic goal. If you want the fastest LS1 ever, that's fine, just be prepared to pay more than your house, devote your life to the track, and resign that your car won't be good for anything else. I went through several phases of "Fastest NA car", "Most HP per CI moter", and so on. Ultimately, I don't want to be the best of anything (beside, I can't afford it). When you are THE best in one thing, you probably suck at about everything else. What I want is a fun car that looks good, has a high top speed, good acceleration, is comfortable, and gets decent gas milage. I'm not going to be the best at any of those or even extraordianry, just pretty good at all of them.