Sponsored by:

Clutch not fully disengaging?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2008, 04:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch not fully disengaging?

Hey guys,

First off, let me say that I am a noob with a manual transmission and that this is my first ever manual car. I'm having no problems driving it but a few friends believe that the clutch isn't working properly.

The car is a 98 Trans Am ws6 with a Centerforce II clutch installed by the previous owner. The clutch itself is holding fine but it doesn't seem to be disengaged until the pedal is ALL the way to the floor. If I don't press it to the floor when shifting (under regular driving circumstances, ie shifting at around 2000-2500 rpm), I will get some grinding.

Now here is what leads me to believe that it might not be all the way disengaged...When I am launching the car and bringing first gear into high RPMs, the shift into second will commonly cause a quick grinding noise. Obviously this isn't good for the transmission so it isn't something that I keep doing.

So here's the question...Do you guys think the clutch needs to be adjusted, if so - how do I go about doing that? Most of my friends said that I shouldn't need the pedal all the way down to have it disengage.

I appreciate any help - Thanks a bunch
Old 06-10-2008, 04:20 PM
LS1TECH & Trucks Sponsor

Received 33 Likes on 21 Posts

You do need to put the pedal to the floor every shift every time, period. That said, flush out your fluid with the bleeder while constantly filling the master and it should help a little as well.

800-456-0211 / PM / Facebook
WHIPPLE Superchargers, Procharger, Magnuson, Powerbond Sale, HPTuners packages!, Trickflow, AFR, PRC, CHE Trunion upgrade, $100 7.400" pushrod set, Custom Cam of your choice

Old 06-10-2008, 04:34 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by Scoggin Dickey