Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice needed on nitrous

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2009, 08:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Advice needed on nitrous

Hey guys, I was looking into getting some nitrous installed on my trans am here soon. Im a beginner when it comes to nitrous so please bear with me. My car is a weekend car that does not see any track times. I probably just want to stick to a 100 shot of nitrous. I'm kinda of confused on whether or not to go with a dry or wet kit. Someone told me wet was the way to go and that dry can complicate things. I've read that im going to need a window switch for safety. Do all nos systems work by the user pushing the button on demand? Or are there systems that automatically inject nitrous between certain rpms? Any kits that could be recommended? Thanks
Old 12-27-2009, 09:05 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Both systems have their pros and cons, wet systems are usually easier to tune because you can adjust youre a/f ratio by simply swapping out the fuel pill. A dry kit is simpler in the way that there are less parts, but is a little trickier when it comes to tuning. Be it the placement of the nozzle before the maf, or adding fuel via software such as HPtuners or efi live if placing the nozzle after the tb.

You can use a window switch in conjuction with a wot switch, to activate the nitrous system at a certain rpm "window" while only at wide open throttle. A fuel pressure safety switch (fpss) can also be used to keep the nitrous system from activating if there isnt enough fuel pressure.

Check out Harris Speed Works or Nitrous Outlet, both are top notch companies and have all kinds of kits; wet, dry, plate, nozzle, etc...

I am by no means an expert, but hopefully this will help you out some. Ive been doing research on nitrous for about a year before i finally pulled the trigger and ordered a kit just a few days ago...of course the holiday discounts also aided in my decision as well.