Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

newbie question

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 11:35 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie question

hello im pretty new to the ls stuff but have been reading and researching alot i would like to know what a good ring for a 5.3 would be and what should i gap the rings at?
also would like cam opinions for a stock headed carb swap 5.3 in a 3400lb car on a 200 shot

thanks alot Justin
Old 08-22-2012, 01:47 AM

First off the recommended ring gap increase is different from company to company. So with that said it would all depend on Who's rings you buy. I personally prefer the Steel Total Seals. They are pricey but hard as rocks & work Very well. We have pulled many motors down after a season & the ring gap has barely even increased on bracket cars & weekend racers. They go right back in.
On the cam..... ONLY thing I can tell you is your Best Bet is to call CamMotion & give them All your specs & get a custom ground cam tailored to Completely match YOUR build. I Never use off the shelf cam grinds Unless its a must. There is NO point. As the cam is the Most important thing to determine if you have a power house or a turd. All it is a air compressor so the main control on air in & out is Very crutial. You can go with other brands but that is All they do & All they have ever done.
Also the hone finish on the cylinder walls Needs to be correct for the rings you buy or you might Never get them to seat.
Hope this helps!
Old 08-22-2012, 08:14 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

^^^Dude why are you giving info that is for the most part wrong?

Rings gaps are determined by what the motor is used for. Different ring gaps for different power adders, not who makes the rings and piston.

Your engine builder decides the ring gaps. Because only YOU and HIM know how much nitrous or how much boost you are going to throw at it.
Old 08-22-2012, 05:22 PM
Chris@NitroDaves