Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wet or Dry Shot....

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2013, 11:18 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Wet or Dry Shot....

So I've read up on all the info for spray. & I found a local guy that I might be trading my LS6 intake to for his dry nitrous kit. But after reading & having people highly suggest going with a wet kit, now I'm a little nervous & confused on what I should do. I've never used spray before or know to much about it. So that's where I heard would be best to go the dry shot way.. But also heard its more dangerous for something to go wrong & my engine go boom.. If anyone can give me some more incite Id appreciate it!

Old 02-04-2013, 11:27 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Nitrous is a safe as you make it in either application. A dry kit is simple and effective but does not add any fuel so make sure your fuel system is up to the task like pump, rail, injectors. If anyone fails you'll have a bad day. With a dry you cant have a nitrous backfire in the intake because there is no added fuel to puddle up. Ive heard mixed opinions on tuning for a dry shot. Some say you wont need one if you spray before the maf sensor because it'll compensate extra fuel others say its mandatory and kind of tricky to tune. Most people say do not spray above a 100 shot on a dry system.

With a wet kit fuel is mixed with the nitrous in the intake. If using a nozzle this could cause puddling and cause a backfire. A plate it a way to help against this but doesnt make it impossible to occur. Since a wet system adds fuel in from the rail your stock injectors wont have to up the duty cycle so with a good fuel pump the rest of your fuel system can handle it. A wet kit also allows room for growth either just upping the jets or going to a dual stage etc.