Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Blown Head Gasket 150 wet shot

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 08:03 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Blown Head Gasket 150 wet shot

Ok, I'm kind of new to nitrous; however I've read a lot about it and feel fairly comfortable using a 150 wet shot on my 96 Z28. I recently blew a head gasket at the #7 cylinder (see photo). The engine has about 2000 miles on it since it was rebuilt. It is a 383 LT1 2 bolt, forged bottom; static CR is 10.5/1. Dyno proven rear wheel horsepower was 400 before installing the nitrous, so I'm estimating in the 600 range at the crank while on the bottle. The engine has TPIS / AFR CNC heads secured with ARP bolts, and a GMPP P/N 10168457 head gasket. I have a FPSS, a steady 47 PSI fuel pressure, 3 degrees of spark retard via Mallory 685, window switch set on at 3500 and off at 6000, bottle pressure was 925 psi. The gasket blew at about 5000 - 5500 RPM, this was the 2nd use of the evening, and the fourth use overall. All uses were very brief, 1 - 2 seconds. Had a huge steam cloud out of the exhaust and an immediate miss and audible pfft-pfft-pfft noise out of the engine found to be at the back of the engine on the driver's side. I did not get a steady or flashing CEL. I shut it down and pulled it home. Pulled the engine (out the bottom which worked well), stripped the intake and heads and found what I had expected. All plugs, Autolite 103s, looked normal to rich with the exception of the #7 which was predictably steam cleaned with no indication of damage (see pics). I checked the block and the heads for warpage. I did find that the during the last plug change, I inadvertently left my cut off spark plug socket securely nested on the #7 plug. Could this have contributed to the problem, or was it just a poor choice of head gasket to use with nitrous? I'm planning on going back together with ARP studs and SCE ICS Titan head gaskets. I'd like to avoid this happening again, any comments or suggest