Northwest Members WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, SD, ND

PIR Upgrades coming!

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2006 | 10:06 PM
TECH Fanatic

Default PIR Upgrades coming!

I was at PIR today with Park Place and Don Kitch showed everyone the drawings for the proposed renovations to PIR. Currently, work is underway for an 11,000 seat grand stand that is already sold out for this years NHRA event. Second, the gravel pits that are to the right of the entrance road are supply SeaTac with gravel for the added runways. With the money the owners are going to revise the road course and pave it, add a 1/4mi circle dirt track where trees are currently at where you wait for the gates to open, and a speed shift kart track will be added where the gravel pits are. I looked over the drawings (in case you do not know I am an engineer) and they are very impressive. Actual paved parking lots! You would be surprised to know how much the road course, the driving school and Park Place are behind this. Right now, they offer the Lotus Elise for lapping through a joint venture with Park Place. Ain't cheap but if today was any indication people do not mind paying the money. Serious buyers are given 10 free laps too. The future is looking bright!