Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

suggest how to fix this scuff on bumper?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2008, 09:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default suggest how to fix this scuff on bumper?

i've had this on my bumper for over a year now, but want to do something about it. i've thought about taking it to a shop, but i'm wondering how much they might charge for something like this?

i have no paint/body experience, but i do have some stuff i picked up from paintscratch.com (basecoat pen, sheets of 220/600/1000 grit sand paper, and i think some kind of clearcoat).

i could take a better picture - this one was taken in the rain.
it doesn't look like the scuffs go too deep, but they can't be rubbed off. i think a 90's dodge minivan nudged me.

what would you guys do?
Old 12-25-2008, 10:46 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

If they are just small scratches i would sand them down with 320 and shoot some primer. Then block with 400 then 600. then go over the whole bumper with 800. And in paint seal the spot with white sealer. Then paint the spot till you covered good and then blend to the sides. Then go over it with a tack rag and then clear it. 2-3 coats is what i do.
Old 12-26-2008, 10:12 AM
TECH Addict

how deep are they? depending on the depth will tell me what method to give you. the only thing i have to add to that is use a grey scuff pad and scuff pasteon the bumper aswell because its hard to get into the license plate area with sand paper. also on the edges your less likely to burn through.
Old 12-26-2008, 03:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

they're deep enough that they have some texture, but that's about it. i can't tell if it could be buffed out or not. any suggestions on how to buff it out by hand ?

hugger-96-lt1, thanks for the suggestion. it is way above my level of experience, though. should i just take it to a shop? how much might they charge me?
Old 12-26-2008, 10:53 PM
TECH Addict