Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Paint guns and supplies?

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2009, 08:57 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Paint guns and supplies?

looking to buy the basics. going to try to tackle a small area i need fixed on my own car and see where i go from there.

what are good brands to get. DO NOT want crazy nice stuff that i have to sell body parts for.

i was thinking around 100-150 total for every thing?

i already have an 80 gal compressor.
Old 08-20-2009, 09:05 AM
TECH Enthusiast

anyone??
Old 08-21-2009, 07:59 AM
TECH Enthusiast

really? nobody has any help here?
Old 08-21-2009, 08:38 AM
On The Tree

Hey mane, I've been a professional painter for 20 years and I can tell you you won't get anywhere with $150. First off you and your gun are the most important factors here. You need to know how ( books,friends, video) and your gun needs to be pretty damn good. Sata and Iwata are THE best IMO but are 5-700$ guns. Devilbiss, Sharpe, and Binks are some of the better less expensive ones. To learn but not have a great finish go for a Harbor Freight gun or paint supply store special. See if you have a Carquest Auto paint store in your area. They have cheap guns ( 40$) (set of 3 for $100) but they are cheap and pretty much disposable, but you can learn on them. Again your finish (end result) will not be as slick as a more expensive gun. Carquest can also fix you up with you paint and clearcoats as well. Tasco Auto color is also a paint supply co. that is nationwide. PPG and DuPont have cheaper lines of product yo can use and gget great results. Nason is DuPonts lne of cheap and Shop Line is PPGs bttom end line. YOu can use a good quality spray can primer for small areas. Sand with 220-320 for paint and 36 grit-180 grit for body work and such ( bondo).Then go over with the finer 220-320 prior to primer and paint. Let me know if I can help anymore.
Old 08-21-2009, 09:05 AM
TECH Enthusiast