Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

97 Trans am repaint, first timer Questions "pics"

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2011, 01:46 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Trans am repaint, first timer Questions "pics"

So this is my first time painting a car and I just had a few questions before this project got underway. I put some picks up with what I started with with is a 1997 formula auto with cloth int. and some pics of where i am at now as a TA clone with leather int.

First off would it be easier for me to try and keep it red by painting the hood bumpers and hatch red, but will they match the other panels on the car? how difficult is it to blend the panels together. Or would it be easy to just paint the car satin black? I know painting the whole car would be more time and work but i would rather the car be black anyways. I dont mind taking things a part and sanding a lot not a problem.

What would be the correct way to sand the car down. Do I need to take it down to bare metal? start with 400 grit and work my way up to 1000 grit? Start with 400 then primer? or none of the above?

Any comments or ideas will be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks for looking!
Attached Thumbnails 97 Trans am repaint, first timer Questions "pics"-photo-1-.jpg   97 Trans am repaint, first timer Questions "pics"-photo-1-.jpg2.jpg   97 Trans am repaint, first timer Questions "pics"-photo-2-.jpg3.jpg  
Old 04-03-2011, 07:42 PM
TECH Resident