Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Clearcoat Not Covering 1000grit Scratches

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2014, 08:12 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Clearcoat Not Covering 1000grit Scratches

I'm a professional painter and I just started having this problem with Sikkens clear. I've started noticing, especially on black cars, that I can see where I sanded with 1000 grit and marks from my grey scotchbrite on parts of the panel where I have no color, just clear. Never ever had this problem before with any paint manufacturer. I used to do everything wet and wash everything before paint, but since we switched from Spies Hecker to Sikkens and got bought by another shop and have a lot more work, I do most everything dry. There's no time to meet their expectation of how many cars we paint per day for cars to dry off most of the time. The paint rep for Sikkens liked that I washed cars before paint, but said that most of their shops stopped doing that to save time.