PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to LS1 Edit and have LTFT ?'s, I searched for hours.

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2003, 04:33 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to LS1 Edit and have LTFT ?'s, I searched for hours.

Me and my friend that has a 2001 Corvette went in together and bought LS1 Edit and EFI Live. I'm kind of new to it, but not retarded. I'm just confused. I know that to get my LTFT's in check, which read in the +20 range, I need to scale my MAF table (ported), and then play with the IFR table. But that just does not make sense to me.

Here is why. My friends cam is a custom 230/232, his LTFT's are about where mine are. His MAF is descreened, so I scaled the table by about 3% up, which helped the smell of fuel at idle go away and the car ran a little better at part throttle. But, the LTFT's did not move (well, shortly, but went back to where they were). So, no big deal, I need to play with the IFR table. This is where I don't understand what you guys are doing.

It seems to me that adjusting to get the LTFT's in the 0/-1.0 range by adjusting the IFR, you are really just dumping more fuel to trick the 02's into thinking the car is not running lean, when in reality it is not running lean. I think, from what I know, that the 02's may get a lot of false readings at idle and part throttle on cars that have cams with a lot of overlap because of the dirty air/fuel mixture, which does not completely burn and some of the intake charge gets sucked right out to the exhaust, which the 02's see as the engine running lean because of the clean air. Right?

The only way that makes sense to me to really get it right is through the VE table, right?