Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Base Running Air Tuning Help

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2010, 12:17 AM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Base Running Air Tuning Help

I am new to tuning and hp tuners as well. I have read about everything I could and a few things are still not making sense to me
The car was tuned at a local shop that is very reputable. I was only having some minor idle surging and some other minor drive ability issues. I wanted to learn how to tune so figured this is as good a time as any. Car has 6.0L 9.5:1 CR with 226/222 116 LSA cam, 1.85 rockers and SLP MAF.
I am assuming that the tuner did a good job on the MAF scaling and VE portion of the tune.
I started by working on the base running air table. I tried to use some of the idle configs that other users have suggested. I can get the histograms to plot data but not in the right ECT fields. Any ideas?
Also when I average idle airflow desired values to update the base running airflow table I am getting numbers in the 5's when at operating temp which are way less than the stock table. I tried running them this way and the car would barely idle and would stall out if put into gear. STIT's were around 1.3 to 1.5. I made a 1.3 correction in the base running air table hoping to lower the STIT and it got very close to the same STIT's after a few minutes. It was acting as if I did not make a change.
Currently I have numbers I came up with from the P\N base airflow and In Gear airflow which almost matches the MAF readings and it seems to be running pretty well. STIT's are around -1.3. I made a -1.3 correction to table and got almost the same STIT again after a few minutes.
Is there something I am doing wrong with this correction? I added 4 deg timing and that seemed to help the most. It liked 6 deg a little more but the STIT started to go down lower. For such a small cam I am surprised it liked the timing.