Sponsored by:

tuning issue...with cam

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2011, 07:00 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default tuning issue...with cam

UPDATED WITH TUNE FILES AND LOGS BELOW!!!!!!!!1

hey all. i have hptuners and all, but im not an expert tuner by any means. i recently dropped the k-member for a h/c install. ill list my setup.

fast 92/95mm tb, ported (ran before h/c)
tsp stage 1 243's
pat g cam 231/239 .617/.623 114+4
melling pump
katech chain
7.4 pr
1 3/4 headers/ory/ slp lm1
42lb green tops
255 with hotwire
stock maf...i know..

midwest chassis 9in 3.89's

6 speed car just installed monster stage 3

also have nitro daves wet kit

i had it tuned before and it ran great. i found a ve table from a car on hptuners tune repository running 42lb injectors and a 233/239 tsp cam (it'll be close...)

i have the 42lb tables setup off a injector disk that has all the different injectors scaling.

i have everything setup. when i have the maf plugged in my wb goes to 16:1... and i hear (and see) my iac valve open all the way up...310!!!! crap. and my idle drops to about 550rpm..

when i unplug the maf it goes to 14.7 and starts to idle around 900-1000...i tried driving it this way and it bucks and surges pretty hard...hard to roll on the gas.

guess im wondering if i should post up some tune files and logs to anyone so someone can point me in the right direction...

thanks guys

Last edited by zacht; 08-23-2011 at 10:11 PM.
Old 08-21-2011, 07:14 PM
TECH Veteran

I'm not an expert either (at all; still a newb).... But check to see if the MAF fields weren't disabled. If it WAS disabled though, it shouldn't make a difference if you plugged it in. Go back through and check the MAF HI and LOW Delta and see if they're not set to Zero. (Zero = disabled). Maybe someone was kicking around on an open loop tune and forgot to return those fields. Also the HI and LOW TPS Delta.