Sponsored by:

5.3 Turbo First start tune...a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 10:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 5.3 Turbo First start tune...a few questions

Hello all,
I'm new to hptuners, so go easy on me! Heres the setup: 1994 camaro, 5.3/t56. JY 5.3, 224/228@114 cam, ls6 intake precision t76, 2 bar SD tune. Im running a 2001 Z28 pcm. I have greg banish's tuning dvd and have set the correct injector data for the 60lb siemens injectors as well as made a few other changes. The car runs pig rich at idle. I havent had it running long enough to scan, so im looking for a baseline tune. Ive attached what I have so far.

Whats the best way to lean out the idle afr? Any tips/pointers? Thanks everyone.
Attached Files
File Type: hpt
5.3M6 Turbo 60LB Inj SD Tune.hpt (456.2 KB, 224 views)
Old 03-20-2012, 02:26 PM
TECH Fanatic

Anybody?
Old 03-20-2012, 07:31 PM
9 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

In a SD tune, you use the VE table to control the fueling...

Also, not sure about in HPTuners, but with EFILive, you can get to B9021 (minimum pulsewidth) - it sometimes limits the injectors and won't let you lean out the idle no matter how much you pull out of the VE...
Old 03-21-2012, 07:14 AM
TECH Fanatic

Interesting...how could I verify that this is happening? Also, when scaling the VE table, could I just highlight the entire table and multiply it by .9 to take 10% out? Then keep stepping it down until the idle afr from my wideband is where I want it? Thanks for the input.
Old 03-21-2012, 02:37 PM
Teching In

I have never tuned a car but have been reading a lot about it. I will be tuning my turbo GTO in a week or two with HPTuners. Hopefully someone can help you out.