PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking for a base tune for mild heads/cam LS1 (EFI Live)

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2013, 02:21 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Looking for a base tune for mild heads/cam LS1 (EFI Live)

I just finished the wrenching side of swapping a 1999 LS1/4L60e into my 1970 GTO Judge, and now I'm trying to sort out the tuning. Other than some Power Commander 3 experience on crotch rockets years ago and on our FSAE formula car, I am a complete noob to tuning and especially EFI Live. I hate asking for any more than advice and direction, but I am reading myself in circles trying to just understand how to get to the point that I can at least drive the car and log some data.

From what i've gathered, I've got terrible timing jumping into the EFI Live scene... custom tune libraries have been shut down, bouncing b/w V7 and V8, and the TAQuickness plug n play cable to make my LM-2 work with the V2 is no longer offered. :banghead:

Here's what I'm working with:
- EFI Live V2 Scan and Tune
- Innovate LM-2 with a serial cable I made to plug n play with the V2.
- Going speed density right off the bat per the recommendation of several friends with experience.

Drivetrain:
- Stock bottom end 1999 LS1
- 799 heads with a home port/polish, 3 angle valve job, and .600" 918 springs
- heads decked .005" to true them up, and .040" MLS head gaskets (instead of the stock .052")
- Comp 222/224 .556/.568 on 112 cam
- Typhoon 85mm intake and throttle body.
- Stock 1999 26 lb/hr @ 58 psi injectors with billet rails
- Long tube headers and 2.5" duals w/X-pipe
- 4L60 has been beefed up and running a Yank SS3600