PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whats needed when buying HPtuners?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2014, 04:25 PM
10 Second Club

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Default Whats needed when buying HPtuners?

I'm going to purchase HPtuners and attempt to tune my own vehicles and a few friends. I'm completely new to this so bare with me. What exactly am I going to need to start. I see on the HPtuners sight a VCMsuite and a VCMscanner. Do I need both or just the VCMsuite. I all ready have a laptop and I know I'll need a wideband and I've all ready ordered the Masport master efi book. What else would be useful for somebody new to this? Also when using the wideband do I just remove one stock 02 sensor and plug in the wideband or do I need some sort of tailpipe attachment? Thanks
Old 10-22-2014, 06:33 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Personally, I'd get the hp tuners pro, the scanner is included. Get a decent wideband O2. I have the book you mentioned and it should be enough to get you started. Don't be shocked if you spend hour upon hour searching for answers to simple questions. Hp tuners forum is your friend, use it before asking. If you can find someone to help you out at first it will speed up the learning curve. Good luck
Old 10-22-2014, 10:36 PM
10 Second Club

What would be a good wideband. I was looking at the ngk afx and the lm1. I like the cig lighter adapter on the lm1.
Old 10-23-2014, 12:45 AM

ngk is a good unit ive been using them for years on atv and sleds and drag cars very accurate and easy to use and setupm you will need to add a bung to the exhaust but its included in the kit just run over to an exhaust shop have them install it up front someplace either in the headed or close the collector and your all set
Old 10-23-2014, 07:40 AM
On The Tree